Untitled

Falling stars
happen every night,
but sometimes I’m transfixed
by the flickering light
and watch it fall
it crashes to the dirt
and the scythe claims
one more soul.
The silence is so loud.
I can’t say why,
But the green of your eyes
usually means trouble
of some kind.
I remember then,
I think I was fourteen.
I wondered how it could be
that someone so unearthly
someone so fey
could have landed down here
in hell.
And I knew that both of us
would have to pay our way.
I never thought
you would take some
of my skin
as you walked by.

 

Rana Kelly

One thought on “Untitled”

Leave a Reply

